CONVERGE Vanessa Perica w/ CJO

Verbrugghen Hall  12pm

The CONVERGE artists of tomorrow section of the festival brings together leading student groups from the Sydney Conservatorium Jazz Studies program and pairs them with a mentor drawn from some of Australia’s most progressive and dynamic Jazz musicians. Music is rehearsed in advance featuring compositions from the guest artist but it's the during the rehearsals and the performance with the artist that this concept comes alive. 

Vanessa Perica  composer and conductor  


David Theak  CJO artistic director 

Zac Olsen, Tessie Overmeyer, Anthony Rositano, Laura Power, Kali Gillen  saxophones

Deven Rahman, Alistair Hardie, Harrison Ball, Euan Chaffey, Miles Rooney  trumpets

Jacob Park, Lawson McGuiness, Davie Brown, Jack Lincoln  trombones

Josh Meader  guitar  

Matt Harris  piano

Oscar Peterson  contrabass

Alex Young  drums & cymbals   

Vanessa Perica is a Composer, Arranger, Conductor based in Melbourne.
 Originally hailing from Perth, Vanessa majored in Jazz Composition and Arranging at the West Australian Academy of Performing Arts. Upon completion of her Bachelor degree in 2003, she was awarded the prestigious Bob Wyllie Scholarship for ‘Most Outstanding Graduating Jazz Student.’ Other musicians to have received this honour include Mat Jodrell, Linda Oh, Troy Roberts and Ben Vanderwal. Her mentor was the legendary Graeme Lyall AM.  

In more recent years, career highlights include a performance at the Perth International Jazz Festival in 2015. The Perth Jazz Society Big Band performed her works, under her direction including “Scar for Charlie”, commissioned by Propel Youth Arts WA. In 2018, her composition “Dance of the Zinfandels” was a finalist in the Anonimus Big Band International Composition Competition. Selected by Guillermo Klein, it was performed live in front of a jury in Buenos Aires, Argentina.  

In this same year, Vanessa was a recipient of an Australia Council grant to record her debut album. The Vanessa Perica Orchestra (VPO) features an all-star lineup including Julien Wilson, Mat Jodrell, Jamie Oehlers, Andrea Keller, Sam Anning, Ben Vanderwal, Carl Mackey, Jordan Murray, Phil Noy, Nick Mulder, Ross Irwin and Dr Paul Williamson. Recorded in January 2019, the album entitled ’Love is a Temporary Madness’ will soon see release.